Virginia Frank, Adoption & Surrogacy Attorney | A Family Building Law Firm | Practice Limited to Adoption and Assisted Reproductive Technology Law

Adoptive Parent FAQ

You have questions? We have answers!

Adoptive Parent FAQs

Adoptive Parent FAQ

Answers About Colorado Adoption

If you are interested in adopting a child, this is most likely an issue that is near and dear to your heart. Adoption can be frustrating, expensive, and time-consuming, but it does not have to be. The right approach and counsel from a seasoned Colorado adoption lawyer can make a difference, as can educating yourself on the adoption process, what to expect, and other key issues.

Review the following frequently asked questions, or call (303) 756-4673 to learn more about adopting a child in Colorado.

If you live in Colorado and want to adopt a child from another state, or you want to take a child from Colorado to your home state, the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC) will apply. Both states must give approval through the ICPC. This is something our Colorado adoption lawyers have extensive experience with, and we are here to help if you want to pursue interstate adoption.

To adopt a child in Colorado, you must be at least 21 years of age.

The answer to this question will vary depending on the type of adoption. We welcome you to contact our offices to learn more about pricing and other particulars.

Adoption through foster care is virtually free, but there may be a cost for a home study. Adoption completed through an agency may include licensing fees. We recommend talking to our adoption professionals about the true costs of adopting a baby and what to expect.

Depending on the case, arrangements may be made to provide for a birth mother’s medical care, counseling, and living expenses, under specific guidelines. Because this varies on a case by case basis, it is important to talk to an attorney about your situation.

Adoption can be expensive, but there are grants and loans available to help adoptive parents. An adoption tax credit can also make a difference for a family that has adopted a child.

Also referred to as a private domestic adoption, this is the placement of a U.S.-born infant with adoptive parents, with the legal consent of the birth parent/s.

Each state has its own adoption requirements. In Colorado, you must be at least 21 years of age to adopt. You can be single or married, and LGBTQ couples are welcome to adopt, just like any other couple. A home study will further determine whether you meet adoption requirements by providing a safe and stable environment for the child.

A home study is required for every adoption. This process involves a social worker meeting with you on several occasions, an analysis of your home environment and any people you live with, and FBI fingerprint background clearance. A written report will then be created to help the courts determine if a stable environment exists, where a child could be raised.

The specific definition and arrangement of open adoption may vary. Generally speaking, however, open adoption is one where identifiable information and contact are shared between birth parents and adoptive parents. The specific arrangement will vary on a case by case basis.

Yes, same-sex and LGBTQ couples have the same adoption rights as any other couple. Like other adoptive parents, they must meet Colorado’s adoption requirements and pass a home study.

For more answers to your questions, call (303) 756-4673 or contact us online

Clients Share Their Stories​

Contact Us

We accept LawPay, Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover for U.S. clients.

Colorado
Oklahoma
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Virginia Frank, Adoption & Surrogacy Attorney

Virginia L. Frank is an international surrogacy attorney who helps individuals and couples complete their family through surrogacy....Learn More


Colorado

303-756-4673


Oklahoma

405-880-5700

Our Offices